Shared Services

Shared services are activities concerned with centralizing the Government of Kenya’s information technology systems and services for increased efficiency and effective use of government assets.

The current initiatives under Shared Services are:

Government Data Centre (GDC)

The GDC houses the power, storage, and applications of the most critical and sensitive data and information necessary to support government services. Through this centralisation, government data is easy to easy access by government bodies at national and county level and is protected from natural or man-made disasters that may occur at the primary service sites/Government offices. GDC is connected to the Government Common Core Network (GCCN)

Government Common Core Network (GCCN)

Government Common Core network (GCCN) is a network infrastructure connecting all the major government buildings within Nairobi’s central business district. All the Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) that are housed within the linked buildings share this common network to exchange information, data and applications. Through GCCN, MDAs are able to connect to the Government Data Centre (GDC) where all Government data is centralised for easy access.

Counties will connect to the GCCN through the County Connectivity Programme (CCP) and the National Fibre Optic Backbone (NOFBI) projects to ensure access to critical Government data and services.

Centrally Hosted Email

The ICT Authority has set up a centrally hosted corporate email service for Government offices. To aid Government offices with any challenges, the Authority has set up a help desk at the ICT Authority Office on 23rd floor, at Telposta Towers to address issues concerning the centrally hosted email. Concerns can also be channelled to

Network Operation Centre (NOC)

The NOC is a facility which centrally monitors and analyses IT policies and infrastructure management in government to ensure that the government network is efficient, secure and well maintained.


Integrated Financial Management Information Systems (IFMIS) oversees the implementation of a unified e-procurement financial management system and its adoption across all Government departments. The shift from manual to e-procurement makes public procurement more efficient and effective. It also enhances visibility and accountability at all levels of the procurement process, for the benefit of all Kenyans.

The ICT Authority is providing internet connectivity for the IFMIS project that covers the National Treasury, other Ministry offices and County Government offices. Three modules are currently being implemented to ensure a fully functional Financial Management System including: Accounting, Revenue Management and Asset Management.

To-date all the 18 Government Ministries use IFMIS to transact. Other Government Departments and Commissions also use IFMIS including The Judiciary and the Office of The Attorney General & Department of Justice, and the Public Service Commission and the Salaries & Remuneration Commission.
Visit the IFMIS site


Shirikiana Shared Services Platform

The ICT Authority, with support from The World Bank, is deploying a shared services platform from which respective organs of government including Counties, Ministries and Agencies can benefit from standardised computing and application services. The benefits to national and county governments include enhanced collaboration through e-mail and Skype for business, and information security due to genuine and secure versions of software. The shared platform will also help in automating government workflows in order to improve the efficiency of public service.

Microsoft Cloud Shared Services

The first phase of the shared services platform is the Microsoft Cloud Shared Services. This project will make use of the Microsoft productivity tools to provide office productivity services (e-mail, audio/video conferencing, document storage and collaboration) and IT infrastructure services for Government entities, using the Microsoft Cloud Technologies. This project is currently under implementation to cover 16,000 users initially and is expected to end in December 2016.