Board of Directors

PS, ICT & Innovation – Ministry of ICT

Mr. Jerome Ochieng – PS, ICT & Innovation – Ministry of ICT

jerome2Mr. Jerome Ochieng has been appointed the new Principal Secretary for ICT and Innovation. Until his appointment, Mr. Ochieng was the Director of the Integrated Financial Management Information System (IFMIS) at the National Treasury and a member, Board of Directors at the Information, Communication Authority.

Mr. Ochieng has 17 years’ work experience in the field of information and communication technology in the Public Service. Mr. Ochien’g has also served as ICT Manager with Public Procurement Oversight Authority for 6 years.

He holds a Masters’ Degree in Information Engineering from the University of the Ryukyus, Okinawa, Japan. He is a registered fellow of the Computer Society of Kenya and a Licentiate Member of the Institute of Management Information Systems (IMIS), UK.

Acting CEO, ICT Authority

Mr. John Sergon, EBS – Acting CEO, ICT Authority

robert_mugoJohn Sergon has been appointed the Acting Chief Executive Officer of the ICT Authority effective 22nd March, 2018.

Until his appointment, he was the Director of ICT at the Ministry of ICT in the State Department of ICT & Innovation, overseeing the numerous high value ICT projects under the Ministry. Before then, he was the Ag. ICT Secretary, Directorate of e-Government and Director ICT at the Directorate of e-Government, in the Office of the President.

In addition, John has a wealth of experience in the security sector where he was the Director ICT in the National Security Intelligence Service from 1999 to 2008, a post he held until he was transferred to the Directorate of e-Government.

John holds a Business Administration Bachelors degree from the University of Columbia, USA and MSC, Information Systems Management from the Bowie State University.

Mr. Sergon brings to the ICT Authority over 24 years’ experience in public service, mainly in the ICT and security sectors. He is married and has three sons.

Alternate to PS, Ministry of Land, Housing & Urban Development

Eng. Eliud Waithaka – Alternate to PS, Ministry of Land, Housing & Urban Development

eliudEng. Eliud Waithaka is the Acting Chief Engineer (Electrical) in the Ministry of Land, Housing & Urban Development.

He has worked in the Ministries of Transport and Communication, Public Works and Lands, Housing and Urban Development for 32 years.

He holds Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from University of Nairobi. He is also a registered Electrical Engineer and an associate member of the Institution of Engineers of Kenya (IEK)


Ms Jerotich Sirma – Member

jsictMs Jerotich Sirma is a lecturer of Information Systems at Egerton University, Nakuru Town Campus College.
Ms Sirma has enormous experience spanning over 20 years in the field of information systems. She has worked for IBM Corporation and other private and public sectors in the United States of America by managing, deploying and performing systems integration as well as implementation and infrastructure analysis of large scale systems.

She is currently pursuing a PhD in Business Information Systems in the School of Informatics and Innovative Systems at Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science & Technology. She holds an MBA from Howard University, Washington D.C. and BS in Computer Information Systems from Southeastern University, Washington D.C. Ms Sirma has also published in different journals in the area of Cyber Security/Information Security. She is a member of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).


Ms Mercy Pendo – Member


Ms Mercy Pendo is an Accountant at the Malindi Water and Sewerage Company Sacco. She previously worked as an Assistant in the Internal Audit Department of the same organisation. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Economics and Finance from Kenyatta University.